JackYan.com
Jack and Aston Martin V8 Vantage Monaco street signs
Jack Yan: the Persuader blog
  Click here to go to home pageWhat I stand forMy stuffWhat others have recently saidMeet some of the coolest folks I knowDrop me a line Visit my workplace
> My stuff > The Persuader Blog

2.2.08

Chinese domain name scammers 

[Cross-posted] Since November, I have received emails from a company called Net Technology Ltd. A page about the scam can be found in the comments here.
   The MO: a company finds a dot com and sends them a letter, saying that another company plans to register the same name, but for various territories (with the cn, tw and hk suffixes, among others).
   Your expected reaction: you panic and decide to negotiate with the company, because it claims it is a registry service for domain names.
   Their response: they send you a form for the , at outrageous (thousands of dollars) prices.
   Initially, I was so naïve I started talking to these people. They did highlight a few domains our company planned on getting, so we registered those—but through our regular domain name registration service, paying a normal price.
   When they sent me the form, I said, ‘Forget it.’ I knew how much these names were actually worth and how they were probably phonies. Their response, sensing that the deal was about to slip through their fingers, was to say that the company wanting to register the domains was known for porn.
   By this point I didn’t really care.
   It got more suspicious as these emails kept on coming, either from another company or from the same one, but claiming yet another group was planning to register the same domains. I’ve had three more for one dot com and another for a dot org, same MO.
   Ergo: these are scammers.
   I was lucky. According to the E-consultancy page I cited, some folks even get called up by the scammers. I was fortunate that I was travelling when they first emailed me, so they never figured out where I was.
   So while you should protect your domain names, if you are interested in Chinese ones, do not get suckered in by these folks. Use your regular registry service or a respectable company.
Post a Comment  Links to this post

Comments:
Thanks Jack for sharing, a similar post blog (from a legitimate China-based web hosting firm) is covering the issue as well:

http://blog.sinohosting.net/beware-of-chinese-domain-names-fraud/  
I recived an email from them too :).  
Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

 

Quick links

Surf to the online edition of Lucire
  • More ramblings at the Lucire Insider blog
  • Book me for public speaking
  • Contact JY&A Consulting on business projects
  • Add feeds




    Add feed to Bloglines
    Subscribe in Rojo
    Add to Pluck
    Add to Google
    Add feed to Newsgator
    Subscribe using Netvibes
    Add feed to My Yahoo!





    Add to Bitty Browser
    Add to The Free Dictionary
    Add to Plusmo
    Subscribe in NewsAlloy
    Add to Excite MIX
    Add to netomat Hub
    Add to flurry
    Add to Webwag
    Add to Attensa
    Receive IM, Email or Mobile alerts.


    RSS feed from 2RSS
    CompleteRSS
    Feedster
    CoComment feed
    ATOM for coComment

    Get this blog via email

    Enter your Email


    Powered by FeedBlitz
    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

    Technorati

    Add this blog to my Technorati Favorites!
    » View my Technorati favourites

    Individual JY&A and Medinge Group blogs

  • Lucire: Insider
  • Summer Rayne Oakes News
  • The Medinge Group press room
  • Detective Marketing
  • Delineate Brandhouse
  • Paolo Vanossi
  • EdwardUken.com
  • Nigel Dunn: Introspective
  • Pameladevi Govinda
  • Endless Road
  • Business Boomer
  • Avidiva news
  • Johnnie Moore’s Weblog
  • Steal This Brand Too
  • The Beyond Branding Blog
  • Ton’s Interdependent Thoughts
  • Partum Intelligendo
  • Right Side up
  • Headshift
  • Goiaba Brazilian Music
  • Jack Yan on Vox (personal addenda to this blog)

  • + Add The Persuader Blog to your Blogroll

    Mapstats


    Del.icio.us


    Previous posts

  • Ten murders so far in 2008—remember when we had th...
  • Ian Callum reveals truth about Jaguar X-type
  • Now, there’s a Lucire in Thailand
  • Levi’s Project 501 competition launches today on L...
  • Newspaper exaggerates Sarkozy’s spending, minimize...
  • Citroën pokes fun at genocidal dictator, apologize...
  • Wellington brand bloggers unite
  • Are US Jaguar dealers’ objections to Tata founded ...
  • Car ownership rates say less about our affluence
  • Sir Edmund Hillary, paradigm-shifter: who is next?...

  • This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?


    Comments by Jack Yan

    Blogarama
    Webfeed (RSS/ATOM/RDF) registered at http://www.feeds4all.nl


    Listed on BlogShares


    Please rate my site at Othx
    Blog Flux Directory
    Business Blog Top Sites
    BlogRankers.com
    Blog Directory & Search engine

    Blogz

    Blog Search: The Source for Blogs

    Blogion.com - the definitive blog directory
    Blogroll.net
    Rate me on the Eatonweb Portal
      (Bad) 1 2 3 4 5 (Good)
    Rice Bowl Journals
    Blog Search Engine
    < ? kiwi blogs # >
    Blogoriffic
    Blogindex.de
    Planet Journals
    Globe of Blogs
    FindingBlog
    Popdex Citations
    Truth Laid Bear
    Blogtastic
    World Blog Directory
    BlogSweet.com
    OnlineWide
    Blog Directory Submit
    nfeeds.com

    Donate

    If you wish to help with my hosting costs, please feel free to donate.